2023 Online Convergence

Join farmers, ranchers and ecological land managers from across Canada.

Are you looking for new ideas? Is there an opportunity or challenges you want to share with others? Do you have questions about Holistic Management? Join the convergence to learn and network with experienced land managers and those wanting to learn about it. 

What to Expect:

Convergence Facilitator: Tony McQuail, HM Educator

Each session will start off with the story of one farms journey with a focus on a specific area. We then will open the floor for other participants to share our stories, ask our questions and connect with each other. We will also explore what resources and activities would be most useful and supportive in furthering the knowledge and practice of Holistic Management.

When:

Tuesdays November 21 & 28 and December 5 , 12 & 17, 2023
8 pm Atlantic, 7 pm Eastern, 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain and 4 pm Pacific (Convert to your time zone).

Where:

This event will take place online through Zoom. You must register to receive the event link.

Register for the Convergence

Cost:

Flexible Fee. When registering for this event, you will choose how much to pay for it, depending on what feels right to you and your context. We know that this differs across the country and we believe in making this opportunity accessible to everyone. We trust you to choose an amount that is right for you. Your contribution will go towards continued learning opportunities and network engagement.

Convergence Program:

Tuesday November 21, 2023

Stories from Sarah Loten – Grazing
Sarah Loten of Drover’s Way Farm in Perth, Ontario will kick off Convergence sharing about her experience with grazing sheep as well as herding and guardian dogs and recent challenges with parasites. The focus of this session will be on grazing.
Tuesday November 28, 2023

Stories from Jacob Morin – Marketing
Jacob Morin of Le Paysan Gourmand in Saint-Félix-de-Kingsey, QC will be sharing about their diverse operation and direct marketing to consumers. The focus of this session will be on diversification and marketing.
Tuesday December 5, 2023

Stories from Tony McQuail – People
Tony McQuail of Meeting Place Organic Farm in Lucknow, Ontario will be sharing about on farm experiments and observations. The focus of this session will be things people have tried, innovations (both successful and not) and observations from the 2023 season.
Tuesday December 12, 2023

Stories from Bluesette Campbell – Finances
Bluesette Campbell of B-C Ranch in Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan will share how they use the winter months to plan for the coming season with particular focus on financial planning and planned grazing. The focus of this session will be how to use the winter to be ready for Spring, Summer and Fall.
Tuesday December 19, 2023

Stories from Paula LaPierre – Indigenous Land Management
Paula LaPierre is the Principal Sachem of the Kichesipirini Algonquin First Nation and founder of the Sacred Hoop National Indigenous Equestrian Centre. She will share the history of her people’s relationship with horses of more than 400 years old which had broad influence throughout the continent. The horse played a pivotal role in their survival and continues to hold a special place in their lives and aspirations and is recognized as Sacred, being a keystone cultural species. Read her full bio here.